Skip the NI Direct Bar
Skip navigation

About DFP

About the Department

DFP is one of 12 Northern Ireland Departments created in December 1999 as part of the Northern Ireland Executive by the Northern Ireland Act 1998 and the Departments (Northern Ireland) Order 1999.

The Minister of Finance and Personnel is Simon Hamilton MLA. The Department's Permanent Secretary is David Sterling.

Our Departmental Aim and Objective:

  • The overall aim of the Department is “to help the Executive secure the most appropriate and effective use of resources and services for the benefit of the community”.
  • In pursuing this aim, the key objective of the Department is to deliver quality, cost effective and efficient public services and administration in the department’s areas of executive responsibility.

Organisation Structure

DFP is managed by the Departmental Board, which is chaired by the Permanent Secretary. The Board comprises twelve executive members and two Independent Board Members. The Department is comprised of seven Directorates, one Agency (Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency) and the Departmental Solicitor's Office and employs some 3,400 people.

Full details about the Department's objectives, targets and structure can be found in the DFP Corporate Plan 2012-15 incorporating the Operational Plan for 2012-13 which is available on the Publication Scheme.

DFP Values

CLEAR - Acronym for DFP Values

Access relevant documents on 'Our Values' via the DFP values page on the intranet.

Section 75 Equality

Section 75 of the Northern Ireland Act 1998 (the Act) requires public authorities, in carrying out their functions relating to Northern Ireland, to have due regard to the need to promote  equality of opportunity and regard to the desirability of promoting good relations across a range of categories outlined in the Act.

In its equality scheme, the Department of Finance and Personnel and its Agencies sets out how it proposes to fulfil the Section 75 statutory duties.

Departmental equality Scheme